Science Forums

Hi There, I'm New, And I've Brought Cookies....

Gypsy

As in chocolate chip, not the HTTP kind....

Anyway, my name is Miss Gypsy. I did a Google search for 'Super Soldier Serum' and conveniently it brought me to a thread on this site entitled, funnily enough, 'Super Soldier Serum'. I read it and other posts throughout the forum and discovered a wonderful collection of fantastic minds!!!

Which, however, mine is nothing like. I am a writer, of fiction, and am currently working on a characters' background that I felt I needed to do some serious research on. I am looking to create a 'plausible possibility' for his genetic makeup: that is, I would like to limit how much artistic license I use (no gamma rays, adamantium, or vibranium, although that would be cool).

I am not well read, trained in or studying any of the sciences. Most of what is said will be completely over my head, but of my reading that I have done so far on the topics of genetic engineering, human enhancement, gene therapy, recombinant DNA, retroviruses, I hope to not clog your brilliant minds and try to hold my own in discussions.

So, something about me now. Let's see:

I am a qualified automotive spraypainter. I attended university for 5 years (but did not complete). My favourite 'superhero' is Wolverine (Wonder Woman and Captain America are battling it out for second). Thanks to my Dad, I grew up on a delicious menagerie of what my Mum called 'the oddball": Doctor Who, Labyrinth, Monty Python, The Dark Crystal, Phantom comics, Red Dwarf, Commodore 64's, Tolkien - basically I'm a nerdy child from the 80's. I have a pathological fear of garbage recyclers (dianoga's could be anywhere). I am a revhead: Goes fast? Check. Sounds good? Check. Burns rubber? Check. My favourite food is chocolate. I follow the Brisbane Lions AFL team (don't bother looking up their stats for this season so far - big fat 0!!)