Science Forums

Shadows of Hyperspace

Thomas

We have no evidence for these dimensions being spatial so the answer is "most likely not".

It was my understanding that acording to the big bang theory, objects move away from all other objects (stars, galaxies, ect.), so three dimentional space itself is expanding - the result of a fourth dimention. Would the red shift not possibly account for a fourth dimention?

If I have misunderstood please excuse me, I'm only a student, and compared to some others I have seen on this website, I find myself a little behind.

3 dimensional space can easily expand without the need for a 4th dimension. Like a balloon - it's 3D object and needs no 4th spatial dimension to expand. Some may argue that spacetime in our iniverse is the 3D manifestation of a fourth dimension but that is basically just a philosophical speculation.

There is ofc ourse another dimension, that of time, which is not spatial. Whether it really is a dimension is also a matter of discussion.

The red shift has nothing to do with dimensions but with the doppler shift as galaxies move faster or slower in relation to each other - the further away the higher redshift we observe, indicating that they move away at a faster speed.

About the time thing - what do you think it is exactly, can time be altered? If gravity effects the passage of time, would it be possible to create a machine capable of generating a huge amount of gravity concentrated in one spot; and then step into it somehow; after a few minutes step out to find that not a few minutes had passed, but a few years to the world outside the machine.